Warsaw 26.1 ºC
Nous contacter
HomeAttractions touristiquesPatrimoine“Queen Luiza" Mining Heritage Park

“Queen Luiza" Mining Heritage Park

The “Queen Luiza" Mine is one of the oldest in Upper Silesia. Its origins began in 1791, when it was one of the largest and most modern coal mines in Europe.


Mine developed very dynamically. Its initial production of 120 tons in the first year of its existence, reached the figured 3.3 million tons, a hundred years later. After World War II the mine had its name changed to “Zabrze” and mining operations were completed on the “Zabrze – West” field in 1973. The overground section is located at Ul Wolnosci 410, close to the former “Carnall” Mineshaft. Visitors to the site have the opportunity to see the shaft machinery and signalling communications equipment, the system of cage suspension, the shaft workshop, a mine rescue station as well as the interior of 6 KV switching station. The main attraction of the open-air museum is the only active steam extracting machine of its kind in Europe. The machine originates from 1915, generates 2000HP and in the past served the shaft up to a depth of 503m. The lift motor has 2 cylinders, each with a diameter of about 1m and a Koepe friction disc with a diameter of 6m. Whilst viewing a demonstration of the working of this great device, visitors are transported to the romantic, obscured by mists of time, age of steam.
Part of the underground workings, at Ul Sienkiewicza 43, is located around the now obsolete “Wilhelmina” mineshaft. This includes the excavation from the early 19th century to the present day. Tourists descend to a depth of 35m and visit underground corridors with a total length of 1560m. The mines excavations and corridors are situated at different levels and connected by ramps. By visiting the underground workings, various techniques of coal mining can be discovered from the 19th century shortwall pillars to contemporary machinery and rock face equipment. An unforgettable experience is obtained at the two mechanized walls, by participation in the workings of large mining equipment such as coal ploughs, a combined rock face drill and conveyor system as well as a ride on the mining train “Karlik”. The facilities located here have been entered on the register of monuments in the region of Katowice in 1993, as examples of industry and technology which are of historical value on a national scale. The site was taken over by the Museum of Coal Mining and created the “Queen Luiza” Mining Heritage Park.

“Queen Luiza” Mining Heritage Park
Branch of the Museum of Coal Mining in Zabrze
41-800 Zabrze
Ul Wolnosci 410
Phone: +48 32 370 11 27
e-mail: krolowa.luiza@muzeumgornictwa.pl
Info: www.luiza.zabrze.pl

Tourist Service Office is open Monday to Friday, between 07.30 and 17.30.
Visiting is possible every day, but with prior telephone arrangement.
English and German speaking guides are available for tourists by prior arrangement.
The area around the “Carnall” Mineshaft: a presentation of the steam hoist (suitable for visitors in wheelchairs) and tour of the shaft facilities, takes about 1 hour.
Time it takes to walk or drive to the area around the “Wilhelmina” Mineshaft (the underground section of the Open-Air Museum), between 5 and 10 minutes.
The underground route is about 1.5km long and takes between 1.5 and 2 hours.
The route is electrically illuminated.
The underground route is not suitable for people with physical disabilities.
Tour of the entire Heritage Park takes between 2.5 and up to 3 hours.
Guided tours only
The temperature inside is between 10° C and 14° C and humidity is between 70% and 80%.
We recommend comfortable shoes and warm coats in the summer.


localization-imgCarte de localisation:

Wolności street 410
41-800 Zabrze
Province: ŚLĄSKIE
La latitude et la longitude: 50.2965652,18.8067933

Nos ambassadeurs

Je souhaite recevoir la newsletter