Warsaw 25 ºC
Nous contacter
AccueilAttractions touristiquesPatrimoine“Bunker in Konewka” Tourist Route

“Bunker in Konewka” Tourist Route


At the end of 1939, the Germans began preparations to build command posts in the vicinity of Spala and Tomaszow Mazowiecki, in the central section of the front due to the already predicted war with the Soviet Union. These structures were given the codename “Anlage Mitte”.

The construction of the twin complexes of concrete shelters was started at the beginning of 1940 in Konewka near Spala and in Jelen, to the east of Tomaszow Mazowiecki. For the work to be carried out with utmost secrecy by the company Chemische Werke “Askania”, only workers from Germany and Italy were used. The most important structures were the gigantic, almost 400 metre long reinforced concrete train shelters, which were able to accommodate an entire staff train in their interior. The shelters was located close to technical facilities which included power generators, boilers, filters and fans conveying heated and purified air to the shelter through underground channels. Other facilities housed transformers, wells and water treatment plants and each structure also had its own network of water and sewage facility. Several strategic bunkers were built near Konewka to protect the area and the pre-war Polish airport in Glinnik was expanded. The construction of the two complexes was completed in 1941 and they were not used as command posts during the attack on the Soviet Union. Hitler and his General Staff led the Russian campaign from shelters in the area of Ketrzyn in Prussia, “Wolf's Lair”. In the later stages of war, as these shelters were too far removed from the battlefield, they lost their status as command posts. The shelter in Konewka was used as an ammunition depot and the one in Jelen was taken over by a subsidiary of Daimler - Benz to refurbish aircraft engines. Currently, visitors can see a preserved section original tracks in the train shelter as well as accommodation of the train servicing crew. This is complemented by a rich and constantly replenished military exhibition as well as permanent and temporary exhibits on the history of fortification and World War II. The train shelter is connected to the electric power station with an 80 metre underground tunnel which is also open to the public.

Tel: +48 501 430 321
e-mail: imax@o2.pl

Tourist Route
Tel: +48 501 430 321
e-mail: info@bunkierkonewka.eu
Any questions about the tourist route, services or to arrange times for visits, please contact us at the above address.

The site is open:
From May till June and from September till the end of October, daily (except Mondays), between 10.00 and 18.00.
In the summer months (July till August) the site is open daily, between 10.00 and 19.00 (also on Mondays).
In the period from November till the end of April, the site is open only on Saturdays and Sundays, between 10.00 and 16.00.
Length of the route is around 1km, including an overground section.
Tour takes about 1hour.
The temperature inside is 16° C and humidity is 80%.
The route is electrically illuminated.
The facility is suitable for people with physical disabilities.
We recommend comfortable, athletic shoes and warm clothing in the summer.
Sightseeing is unaccompanied but there is the option to hire a guide.

localization-imgCarte de localisation:

Province: ŁÓDZKIE
La latitude et la longitude: 51.5311945,20.0086471
Je souhaite recevoir la newsletter

Notre adresse

Office National Polonais de Tourisme
10 rue Saint-Augustin
75002 Paris
tél.: 01 42 44 19 00